Columns no image

Published on February 13th, 2013 | by Hale Yeah


2012 Photo of the Year Contest: And the Winner Is…

The winner of the 2012 Derbylife Photo of the Year contest is…

Sharkey’s gorgeous photo of Demanda Riot.


You can see the other finalists here.

Sharkey won a resounding victory with 87 total votes.

Second Place: Hale Yeah (32)

Third Place: Allyson O’Keefe (30)

We thought we’d run a breakdown of the top three in each category.

Best Hit

Winner: LeVar Hurtin (350)

Second Place: Allyson O’Keefe (326)

Third Place: Marko Niemela (247)

Best Jammer Action

Winner: Hale Yeah (168)

Second Place: Donalee Eiri (152)

Third Place: Sir Clicks-A-Lot (90)

Best Moment of Zen

Winner: Sharkey (319)

Second Place: Bob Ayers (212)

Third Place: Hale Yeah (68)

Best Embodiment of Team Spirit

Winner: Donalee Eiri (187)

Second Place: Joe Schwartz (165)

Third Place: Dave Wood (84)

Best Stare Down

Winner: Alysson O’Keefe (137)

Second Place: Sharkey (127)

Third Place: Dave Wood (93)

Best Derby Ambiance

Winner: Donalee Eiri (125)

Second Place: Lawton Howell (107)

Third Place: Rick Marr (92)

And our wildcard category, Editor’s Pics

Winner: Donalee Eiri (116)

Second Place: Lawton Howell (60)

Third Place: Sheila Suckart (59)

Thank you so much to all the fantastic photographers who submitted their work. We’re so excited to see your incredible work in 2013.

And thank you to everyone who voted in the contest as well.

If you’d like to submit a photo to be considered for Photo of the Day, please email it to photos (at)

The following two tabs change content below.

About the Author

Back to Top ↑